Heart & Liver Drawing Process

Uncategorized

The third assignment, for anatomical visualization, is to illustrate an anomalie viewed in an 88 year old Japanese man’s portal drainage. His left hepatic vein would drain directly into the right atrium of the heart, next to the inferior vena cava. In normal anatomy the left hepatic vein drains into the inferior vena cava which drains into the right atrium. This was not found until after the man’s death because functionally, everything worked about the same.

To start this drawing, I began by studying the heart. I drew the heart in the gross anatomy lab, making reference of the over all shape and direction of lighting, and how this affected major form.

Using tracing paper, I began to place the liver with the heart. Realizing the over all drawing was a little big, I scanned it, scaled it down and began drawing again with tracing paper over the print.

I found scanning and reprinting especially helpful because it flattens out initial drawing. Allowing me to ‘re-see’ the image.

I finished placing the liver on the heart and started trying to figure out where the vessels fit in. I need to recheck the size of the heart in relation of the liver (possibly also placement), and placement of the left hepatic vein, portal vein and the smaller vessels which also go directly into the right atrium (opposed to smaller vessels draining into the great cardiac vein).

The biggest challenge I find, is keeping track of what references I am using and where I get certain information. Then trying to remember what is actually correct. I have thought about keeping a text pad open to create a log of what I decide to use certain references for, but that might get a little over whelming. My brain needs some sort of ‘history tracking’. Maybe when I find that I will also find a ‘ctrl-z’ widget for my pencil.

Leave a Reply

