Origination

Inspiration, Planning Ahead, Uncategorized

Origination == Generating an Original Idea;

This is sometimes the most stifling part of the process. When the only limitation is “visualize a physiological process”, your choices still seem endless. With so much interesting information to choose from, I usually find it hard to stick with a topic. For two of my classes my final assignment is to illustrate a whole, or part of a, physiological process. This post is of sketches for each class.

–Illustration Techniques —

The final will be painted in Photoshop or Corel painter. The focus is to use color to define form and present a mood. I chose the release of Epinephrine and Norepinephrine from Chromaffin cells in the Adrenal medulla.

–3D–

For my 3D class the objective is to build, texture, light and composite render a 3D environment of the process or event. While we had to opportunity to pick the same process, I chose something different. It took me a while to come up with an idea I liked. What I struggled through most was ‘seeing’ microscopically.

I finally chose these little guys:

Giardia Intestinalis.  Infestation of the bacteria occurs because it is somehow ingested in cyst form. Once the cyst gets into an the small intestines, conditions are and the cyst’s outer shell breaks down. The bacteria then become active. Giardia intestinalis have optical discs which adhere them to the endothelial lining of an animal’s small intestines. They then outcompete the host’s absorption of nutrients. Symptoms include but are not limited to diarrhea and vomiting ( doesn’t sound fun ).

The following are sketches that I am going to keep rendering. I want to get a better understanding of the form of the bacteria, and how they interact with their environment. Once I pin down a sketch I will generate some value and color schemes to get a better idea of what I want going on in the scene.

One thought on “Origination

Leave a Reply

